Grand Fondo to Iga-Ueno Ninja Village

 

Started this blog on my 10th ride in my Cycling history and 4th Grand Fondo, what once began as a mere outdoors adventure now turned into my fourth passion after Music, Bodybuilding and Hiking.

I have always been fascinated with shinobis since I was a kid. Knew from some time already that I was close to Iga-Ueno and Koka, both most famous ninja villages in Japan. One day I wandered how much distance there is between my current residence and those cities to surprisingly find out that it was a length I`m used to by participating in Strava Challenges. So I announced it here and there on social media and got two companions I was to meet for the first time.

The night before this event I was chit-chatting with my hair stylist who is a native of Mie Prefecture, he recommended me to try two popular local dishes: Yakiudon and Tsu-Gyouza, the gyouza of Tsu are double the bigger than the average common. However, we were not in time at lunch hour around Tsu city and stopped at Yokkaichi where the traditional meal is called Tonteki, pork meat with cabbage served by curry rice. This stop was more or less our first quarter.

Half way during our journey we found the city of Sekijuku, preserved in architectural fashion as the typical fassade of the Meiji Era. AnĀ item on the street brought forth what I classify as one of the most valuable treasures of life, it wasnt jewelry, nor sports car or a yatch (though I wouldnt mind getting such gifts) but a wooden chair. A seat at the front of a house has a strong symbolism, it means peaceful living. It aint everywhere in the World where you can sit at the front of your house with safety, this is one of Japan`s most notable high points when it comes to standards.

We reached Iga-Ueno at night and slept asap since next day we would be visiting the Ninja Village until midday or else our return would belate too much.

First exhbition was a ninja house, full of hidden secret walls, entrance accesses, weaponry and valuables (gold) storage locations.

Secondly we watched a Ninjutsu demonstration like these ones:

 

Third was a museum with lots of artifacts, stories and costumes.

Last, the Iga Castle.

Pressured with time, we iniciated our return. For our please, the wayback began with a long downhill.

The final segments of our return home were flat areas around Nagoya city.

Leave a comment